Home
Projects
Proton-
Magnetometer
UV PCB Writer
Lab Power Supply
Light Barrier
Interesting
Strange Sensor
Misc Stuff
China!
About Myself
 
DE  EN

Proton Precession Magnetometer (PPM)

This device is a highly accurate magnetometer which can be used to determine the exact absolute amount of the earth's magnetic field down to one Nanotesla. After a long development time and the building of several prototypes, this system reaches the specifications of commercial devices.

AM502FG PPM Steuergerät
[Protonenmagnetometer PPM AM502FG]
AM PPM SensorAM502GL GPS Option
[Protonenmagnetometer Sensor AM502SL] [Protonenmagnetometer GPS Option AM502GL]

Features


This magnetometer is constructed without any electromechanical components and it can be used for the monitoring of the earth's magnetic field in a stationary and continuous way (for example to predict polar lights or to measure magnetic variances caused by solar flares) as well as for mobile usage (to search ferromagnetic material etc. in the ground). These are the basic features:

  • Measurement range: 30000 to 60000nT
  • Up to 1 measurement per second
  • 0.1nT resolution, 50ppm absolute accuracy
  • Completely transistorised, no relays, no moving parts
  • Completely automatic tuning of the resonance-circuit and of the band-pass filter
  • Optimized for 12V lead-acid batteries (11-15V, 2A max., 0.8A avg.)
  • Short circuit and reverse-battery protection
  • Non-volatile storage of 32768 measurement samples (including time/date and coordinates with GPS-option)
  • Data logging output to a serial interface
  • Buzzer for threshold alarms and for audible key-clicks
  • Simple usage and display reading (differential bar graph)
  • Designed for continuous 24x7 operation
  • Sealed sensor, no need to open or fill it
  • Robuste aluminium case (Made in Germany), case IP65, connectors IP40 or IP65 (optional)
  • Dimensions of the control unit: 171x54x130mm (HxWxD)
  • Dimensions of the sensor: Length: 315mm (without connector), diameter: 75mm, weight: 2.2kg

Motivation


The initial reason to develop this device was the wish to uncover some of the secrets of the earth's magnetic field. Especially because it is so impossible for the human senses to feel it. Sun storms, electrical currents, magnetic objects - Everything has an influence of the field that is always present around us. Even in former times seamen had sorrows because of stories about magnetic mountains that will pull out the nails out of their wooden ships. Enough reasons to approach this topic with a surprising measurement method that receives signals from the world inside of atoms.


[Magnetometer PCB]

The development from the first prototype (upper right) to the semi-professional unit was more the sportive enthusiasm, the wish to make things perfect, and of course the other amateurs who encouraged and supported me throughout the project. For these reasons there is now even a User Guide available. Well up to now in German only. There is a short Youtube Film too, it gives an impression about the basic usage of the instrument. The manual and the video refers not to the actual version. There is some English documentation too, please contact me if you are interested.

I wrote these pages here on the web to find people with similar interests. Maybe there are very fascinating usecases for such instruments, maybe there are new ideas for scientific projects or proposals for the improvement of the instrument?


Overview


The magnetometer is using the principle of nuclear magnetic resonance, similar to the medical nuclear magnetic resonance imaging systems but with much lower field strengths. With a generated magnetic field the spins of many nuclei will be aligned in the same direction. After switching of this "polarization field" the protons will precess like little gyros in the remaining earth's magnetic field. The precession frequency depends directly on the absolute earth magnetic field and can be picked up by an induction coil. The following figure shows the basic internal structure of the system:

[Proton Magnetometer Block Diagram]

The sensor (1) consists out of two coils wound in the opposite sense. This cancels out external magnetic disturbances of higher frequencies. A fluid like alcohol or parrafine is located in the core of the coils. Water could be used too but it is not an ideal fluid because it can freeze under the usual operation conditions of a magnetometer. The first purpose of the coils is the parallel alignment of the spin axis of the protons. To achieve this the coils will be switched to the power supply via the switches (3) and via the current limiter (4). A nearly lossless reverse-polarity protection (5) ensures that the unit cannot be easily damaged. The polarizing phase takes about 1 to 5 seconds, longer times are not of much use because at usual temperature not much more spins will be aligned after that. The following picture shows the sensor coils:


[Magnetometer Coils]

After the polarizing phase the current through the coils will be interrupted by (3). Due to the nature of an inductance a high voltage will be induced which is then limited by the voltage limiter (2) until the coil is electrically "discharged". Until the charge is completely zero, the decay will be damped by a resistor that is located in component (2) too.

After the polarization and discharge many spins are aligned, precessing in the earth's magnetic field. At typical field strengths the frequency lies in the range of 1.5 to 2.5kHz. The fascinating thing is that, although there are no metal things, just a non-magnetic fluid, a voltage will be induced in the coils (1). This is then connected by an analog switch (7) to to variable capacitor (8), which is in fact a capacitor bank, that can be configured by analog switches. This forms a resonance circuit, just like the receiver of a simple radio, which amplifies the signal approximately x10 which finally gives a few microvolts that are amplified by a low noise preamplifier (7).

After the pre-amplification (9) by 1000 or 2000 the noise is still dominant due to the very low signal amplitude. To reduce this, the signal is filtered by a programmable band-pass (10), with a band-width of less than 100Hz and an amplification factor of 20 to 50. The processed signal is then digitized by a comparator (11) and sent to an input of the CPU (12). Within a timeframe of about 500ms all zero-crossings will be detected. The timestamps will then be used to calculate the exact frequency. With an earth magnetic field of 47500nT, as it is the case in south Germany for example, the resulting frequency will be about 2022.35Hz

More details about the functional details of a proton magnetometer can be found on the Internet, for example in the related article on Wikipedia.

In general it is important to know that proton magnetometers can only be used outside of buildings, away from power lines, fences, cars etc. because they are disturbing the magnetic field, causing fast fluctuations and/or field gradients that will disturb the precession of the protons so that the induced signal will fade away too fast to be measured. In addition the sensor should be placed 1m or more above ground to reduce the disturbances caused by the small electric currents flowing in the soil below.


Measurement Results


The following graph (please click to enlarge) shows the variations of the earth's magnetic field at the 15th and 16th July 2012 close to Ludwigsburg in Germany (red) and in Braunschweig, Germany (blue). The Technische Universitaet Braunschweig operates a magnetic laboratory and observatory, providing their measurement data on their Internet pages which can be found here.

[Magnetsrode Proton Magnetometer]

The width of the red trace is noise, caused by magnetic interferences from power lines and trains. The spikes are caused by vehicles, passing by at the sensor in around 10m. Here a magnified example for a vehicle that comes and parks in a distance of about 15m:

[Proton Magnetometer, Parking Car]

The noise floor in urban regions with houses is still around +-2 to 3nT:

[Proton Magnetometer, Urban Noise]

In regions far from human homes even more reduced fluctuations can be observed. The distance to buildings is now about 3km, the way to the next street about 1.5km. The red data shows the measurements taken by the magnetometer described here while the blue data comes from the professional Overhauser-magnetometer mounted in the observatory station of the Technische Universitaet Braunschweig:

[Proton Magnetometer, Urban Noise on Countryside]

Here are the fluctuations of the device, recorded in a forest about half a kilometres far from buildings, with maximum measurement frequency (1Hz). It can be assumed that this is noise is to the most part the true noise level of the instrument. The effective value of the noise floor in this example is about 0.25nT RMS.

[Magnetometer Noise Floor]

Finally the presentation of some measurement results will be closed by the "voice" of protons. It is fascinating each time to hear this strange echo coming out of a liquid that doesn't seem to have magnetic properties. Here is the signal in the WAV-format (165kB) which was acquired in an urban region with buildings around and power lines in the ground. The spectral analysis shows harmonics of 50 and 100Hz up in the range of kHz. They are so strong that the cancellation of precisely wound coils does not work completely. Therefore power lines are always a problem, especially when using proton magnetometers in mobile surveys.

A magnetometer software tool (PPMTOOL) has been developed to create so called contour-maps, visualizing colored maps of the magnetic field with the help of the recorded GPS coordinates. In the following example the disturbances due to the (mostly remanent) magnetism of a water pipeline can be seen. The data has been acquired by using this magnetometer. With KML it is possible to use such maps as Ground-Overlay in Google. These can be even viewed interactively.

[Proton Magnetometer Survey 1]  [Proton Magnetometer Survey 2]

This example shows that it is possible to achieve the resolution and accuracy of professional devices by amateurs in their circuit cellars.


Magnetometer Software Tool


Measurement data recorded during mobile usage can be downloaded to a Windows-PC. Data with GPS coordinates can be quickly displayed as interpolated colormap.

[Proton-Magnetometer Software Tool]

The tool is simple and the main purpose is to download data. The values can be saved in CSV-format for further analysis. This allows to use them in other programs (for example Surfer) too.

For the pure readout of actually measured values no special software is required. The values are send as ASCII strings via the RS232 interface. The tool is required just for the download of saved data records.


Early Versions


During the different phases of the development one of the early versions was the AM502C in a very small housing. Unfortunately the small case allowed connectors on the rear panel only so that the portable usage in a shoulder-bag was not really possible. The toggle-switch was also not protected against dust and humidity:

[Proton-Magnetometer old Version AM502C]

The version on the following picture (AM502FL) had solid industrial connectors on the front panel but the case was not classified for dust/humidity and it had a plastic frame that was not so robust compared to the full aluminium case of the latest variant. However, the toggle-switch was already replaced by a membrane type:

[Proton-Magnetometer PPM AM502FL]

Further interesting Documents


Here are some links for documents that are worth to read.

For a general introduction it is recommended to read the related articles about nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) and proton magnetometers on Wikipedia.


Who else builds Proton Magnetometers?


Here is an overview (not complete for sure) of some developers and producers of proton magnetometers.

Professional High-End Manufacturers

Geometrics One of the three big manufacturers
Gemsys One of the three big manufacturers
Scintrex One of the three big manufacturers
WTS Chinese supplier
Enoutech Chinese supplier
Magson Model PM 99/1, but no further information (manuals etc.) on the web.
PMP Magnetometr Protonowy PMP-5a (GEOPAN Warszawa, designed by W.Turewicz, Ph.D, Warsaw. Unfortunately he passed away in 2016. So the instrument is discontinued. Thanks to Mr. Sobolewski for the information!)

Semi-Professional Amateur Instruments

Quantro Also for underwater use, tuning not state-of-the art with switches.
Aquascan Old technique, non-digital instruments on front panel
Deepgeotech   Useless display of 5 digits after the comma, Nanotesla is abbreviated with nTl, tuning not state of the art with switches...
PPM Mark IV Proton magnetometer kit. Many thanks to Jim and Willy for their friendly support!
Alex Mumm The one described on these pages, just for completeness

Educational Projects

Gellerlabs Development project for educational purpose.
PyPPM (home) Von Bradley Worley, Open Source, interesting design. PC/Notebook via USB required.
Stefan Hollos Book about the construction of a proton magnetometer.
ilotresor Guide for construction, educational purpose.
Colombo Project at University of Colombo.


© 2015 Alexander Mumm

Home
Projekte
Protonen-
Magnetometer
UV-Platinenbelichter
Labornetzteil
Mess-Lichtschranke
Interessantes
Seltsamer Sensor
ABPM50
Sonstiges
China!
Über mich
 
DE  EN

Protonen-Präzessions-Magnetometer (PPM)

Dieses Gerät ist ein hochgenaues Protonenmagnetometer, welches zur exakten Bestimmung des Erdmagnetfeldes auf etwa ein halbes Nanotesla genau verwendet werden kann. Nach langer Entwicklungszeit und vielen Prototypen erreichen die Daten der aktuellen Version die von kommerziellen Geräten.

AM502FG PPM Steuergerät
[Protonenmagnetometer PPM AM502FG]
AM502SL PPM SensorAM502GL GPS Option
[Protonenmagnetometer Sensor AM502SL] [Protonenmagnetometer GPS Option AM502GL]

Eigenschaften


Das Magnetometer ist ohne elektromechanische Bauelemente (keine Relais) aufgebaut und eignet sich sowohl für die Überwachung des Erdmagnetfeldes im stationären Dauerbetrieb (z.B. zur Polarlichtvorhersage oder zum Nachweis von Sonnenstürmen) als auch zum mobilen Einsatz. Hier die wichtigsten Daten:

  • Messbereich 30000 bis 60000nT
  • Messfrequenz bis zu 1 Messung pro Sekunde
  • 0.1nT Auflösung, 50ppm absolute Genauigkeit
  • Vollständig transistorisiert, keine Relais, keine Verschleissteile
  • Vollautomatischer Abgleich (Autotune-Funktion)
  • Optimiert für 12V Bleiakku-Betrieb (11-15V, max. 2A, Durchschnitt ca. 0.8A)
  • Kurzschluss- und Verpolungsschutz
  • Nichtflüchtige Speicherung von 32768 Messwerten (GPS-Option: incl. Zeit/Datum und Koordinaten)
  • Datenausgabe über serielle Schnittstelle
  • Piezosummer zur Alarmierung und Tastenrückmeldung
  • Einfache Bedienung und Ablesung (Differenzanzeige als Balkengrafik)
  • Stationärer Dauerbetrieb (Observatorium) ist möglich
  • Hermetisch, dauerhaft versiegelter Sensor, kein Befüllen o.Ä. notwendig
  • Robustes Aluminium-Gehäuse (Made in Germany), Gehäuse IP65, Steckverbinder IP40 oder IP65 (optional)
  • Abmessungen des Steuergerätes: 171x54x130mm (HxBxT)
  • Abmessungen des Sensors: Länge: 315mm (ohne Anschlüsse), Durchmesser: 75mm, Gewicht: 2,2kg

Motivation


Der Anlass, dieses Gerät zu entwickeln, war der Wunsch, dem Erdmagnetfeld seine Geheimnisse zu entlocken, gerade weil es den Sinnen des Menschen so unzugänglich ist. Sonnenstürme, elektrische Ströme, magnetische Objekte - Alles beeinflusst das uns umgebende Feld ständig. Schon früher hatten die Seefahrer Sorgen wegen möglicher Magnetberge, welche die Nägel aus den Schiffen ziehen. Genug Gründe, der Sache mit einer erstaunlichen Messmethode näher zu kommen, einer Methode, die Signale aus der Welt innerhalb von Atomen empfängt und auswertet.


[Magnetometer Platine]

Die Weiterentwicklung vom ersten Prototyp (rechts oben im Bild) bis zum semiprofessionellen Gerät war dann eher der sportliche Ehrgeiz, Dinge perfektionieren zu wollen und natürlich der Ansporn durch die anderen Elektronikamateure, die bei der Entwicklung mitgewirkt haben. Daher existiert inzwischen auch eine Bedienungsanleitung und ein kurzer Youtube Film vermittelt einen Eindruck vom Gerät und dessen Einsatz! Die Anleitung bezieht sich jedoch noch auf eine der früheren Geräteversionen.




Die Webseite habe ich erstellt, um Menschen mit ähnlichen Interessen aufmerksam zu machen und kennenzulernen. Vielleicht ergeben sich so interessante Einsatzmöglichkeiten, Ideen für weitergehende Forschungen und Vorschläge für die Weiterentwicklung des Gerätes.


Aufbau und Übersicht


Das Magnetometer nutzt das Prinzip der Protonen-Kernspinresonanz, ähnlich wie in einem Kernspinresonanz-Tomographen, nur mit wesentlich geringeren Feldstärken. Durch ein Magnetfeld werden möglichst viele Kernspins in die gleiche Richtung gebracht. Nach dem Abschalten dieser "Polarisierung" präzessieren die Kernspins wie kleine Kreisel im Erdmagnetfeld. Die Präzessionsfrequenz hängt dabei direkt vom Erdmagnetfeld ab und kann durch eine Induktionsspule nachgewiesen werden. Die folgende Grafik zeigt den prinzipiellen Aufbau des Systems.

[Protonenmagnetometer Aufbau und Funktionsweise]

Der Sensor (1) besteht aus zwei gegensinnig gewickelten Spulen. Diese Anordnung verhindert Störungen wegen externer Magnetfelder durch gegenseitige Auslöschung. Im Zentrum der Spulen befindet sich ein Behälter mit einer Flüssigkeit wie z.B. Isopropanol oder Paraffin. Wasser wäre zwar prinzipiell geeignet, scheidet aber wegen der Gefahr des Gefrierens aus. Die erste Aufgabe der Spulen ist die Ausrichtung der Kernspins. Dazu wird mit den Schaltern (3) das Spulensystem über einen Strombegrenzer (4) und einen nahezu verlustlosen Verpolungsschutz (5) an die Versorgung (Ubatt) geschaltet. Diese Polarisierungsphase dauert ca. 0,5 bis 5 Sekunden, danach werden bei Raumtemperatur kaum noch mehr Spins ausgerichtet. Hier ein Blick auf die Sensorspulen vor dem Zusammenbau des Sensors:


[Magnetometer Spulen]

Nach der Polarisierungsphase wird der Stromfluss mit der Schalteranordnung (3) unterbrochen. Wie bei jeder Spule wird nun eine hohe Spannung induziert, welche über die Spannungsbegrenzung (2) limitiert wird, bis die Spule "entladen" ist. Bis zur vollständigen Entladung wird der Verlauf von Strom und Spannung durch einen, ebenfalls in (2) enthaltenen, Widerstand gedämpft.

Nach der Polarisierung und Entladung der Spule sind die Spins ausgerichtet und päzessieren im Erdmagnetfeld. Die Frequenz liegt bei typischen Feldstärken des Erdmagnetfeldes im Bereich von ca. 1,5 bis 2,5kHz. Obwohl im Medium keine metallischen Objekte vorhanden sind und auch keine relevanten Ströme fliessen, wird im Spulensystem (1) eine Spannung induziert. Diese wird über den Analogschalter (7) weiter zu einem variabel schaltbaren Kondensatorbank (8) und dem Vorverstärker (9) geleitet. Mit Hilfe der Kondensatoren bilden die Spulen einen Resonator, ähnlich einem einfachen Radioempfänger, welcher das Signal etwa um Faktor 10 in den Bereich einiger Mikrovolt anhebt.

Nach Anhebung des Signals um Faktor 1000 bis 2000 durch (9) dominiert trotz des abgestimmten Resonators das Rauschen. Um dies weiter zu senken, dient der programmierbare Bandpass (10), welcher das Signal mit einer Bandbreite von weniger als 100Hz nochmals um den Faktor 20 bis 50 verstärkt. Das so aufbereitete Signal wird dann mit Hilfe eines Komparators (11) an den Prozessor des Systems (12) weitergeleitet. Dort werden die Zeiten aller Nulldurchgänge in einem Messintervall von ca. 500ms ermittelt und zur mathematischen Bestimmung der Frequenz verwendet. Beträgt das Erdmagnetfeld beispielsweise in Süddeutschland 47500nT, dann resultiert daraus eine Frequenz von rund 2022.35Hz.

Weitere Details zur prinzipiellen Funktionsweise eines Protonenmagnetometers finden sich beispielsweise im entsprechenden Artikel auf Wikipedia.

Generell muss beachtet werden, dass sich Protonen-Magnetometer nur zur Anwendung auf freiem Feld, abseits von Bauwerken und Stromleitungen eignen, da diese im Allgemeinen zu grossen Feldfluktuationen und Gradienten führen. Der Betrieb innerhalb von Gebäuden ist daher generell nicht möglich, ausserhalb sollten für einen störungsfreien Betrieb mindestens 5m Abstand zu Bauwerken mit Metalleinschlüssen (Beton) und Stromleitungen (auch im Untergrund) eingehalten werden. Ebenfalls sollte der Sensor mindestens in 1m Höhe betrieben werden, da die immer vorhandenen, elektrischen Ströme und magnetische Mineralien im Erdreich sonst ebenfalls für inkorrekte Messwerte durch starke Feldgradienten führen.


Messergebnisse


Das folgende Grafik (bitte zum Vergrössern anklicken) zeigt den Verlauf des Erdmagnetfeldes am 15. und 16.7.2012 bei Ludwigsburg (rot) und in Braunschweig (blau). Die Technische Universität Braunschweig betreibt ein Magnetlabor mit Observatorium und stellt auf ihren Internetseiten auch die aktuellen Messdaten zur Verfügung, welche diesen Vergleich ermöglicht haben.

[Magnetsrode Protonenmagnetometer]

Die Verbreiterung (Rauschen) der roten Messkurve ist auf magnetische Störfelder wie Stromleitungen und Züge durch die nahegelegene Bahnlinie zurückzuführen. Die Aussreisser sind Fahrzeuge, die in kurzem Abstand (ca. 10m) am Sensor vorbeigefahren sind. Hier ist der Fall zu sehen, dass ein Fahrzeug ankommt und in etwa 15m Entfernung parkt:

[Protonenmagnetometer - Parkendes Fahrzeug]

Das Grundrauschen in bebauter Umgebung mit Wohnhäusern beträgt selbst in der Nacht noch +-2 bis 3nT:

[Protonenmagnetometer - Umweltrauschen]

Erst in Gegenden abseits bewohnter Gebiete lässt sich nochmals eine Reduktion der Fluktuationen beobachten. Die Entfernung zu Gebäuden beträgt hier ca. 3km, die zur nächsten Strasse ca. 1.5km. Zum Vergleich sind rot die Messdaten des hier vorgestellten Magnetometers gezeichnet, während es sich bei den blauen Daten um die Messungen des professionellen Overhauser-Magnetometers in Braunschweig handelt:

[Protonenmagnetometer - Rauschen auf dem Land]

Hier die Fluktuationen des Gerätes in einem abgelegenen Waldgebiet, bei maximaler Messfrequenz (1Hz). Es kann davon ausgegangen werden, dass es sich hierbei zum überwiegenden Teil um das Grundrauschen des Messgerätes handelt. Der Effektivwert des Rauschens beträgt bei diesem Beispiel ca. 0.25nT. Eine Mittellung von jeweils 4 Werten führt zu einem Grundrauschen um 0.1nT (effektiv) im Bereich professioneller Overhauser-Magnetometer:

[Grundrauschen]

Zum Abschluss der Messergebnisse nun noch die "Stimme" der angeregten Protonen. Es ist immer wieder faszinierend, wie aus einer Flüssigkeit wie Wasser, ein magnetisches Signal entstehen kann. Hier nun das Signal im WAV-Format (165kB) welches ebenfalls in bebauter Umgebung mit vielen Stromleitungen aufgezeichnet wurde. Die spektrale Analyse zeigt Harmonische von 50 und 100Hz bis weit in den kHz-Bereich. Diese sind so stark, dass trotz präziser Wickeltechnik der gegensinnig geschalteten Sensorspulen, keine vollständige Unterdrückung möglich ist. Somit bleiben Versorgungsleitungen immer ein Problem besonders beim mobilen Einsatz von Protonenmagnetometern.

Mit dem Magnetometer-Softwaretool (PPMTOOL) lassen sich sogenannte Contour-Maps erzeugen, die mit Hilfe der aufgezeichneten GPS-Koordinaten die Magnetfeldstärke farbig in einer Karte darstellen. Das folgende Beispiel zeigt eine, mit dem hier vorgestellten Magnetometer entdeckte, unterirdische Wasser-Pipeline, die offensichtlich von einem Wasserbehälter (Nord-Ost-Ecke, links oben) zu einem Wasserturm (rechts unten) verlegt ist. Mit KML lassen sich solche Magnetfeldkarten auch als Ground-Overlay in Google-Maps einbinden, die sich dann interaktiv bedienen lassen.

[Proton Magnetometer Survey 1]  [Proton Magnetometer Survey 2]

Mit diesem Test lässt sich zeigen, dass auch mit Amateurgeräten die Auflösung und Qualität der enorm teuren "Profigeräte" von Geometrics, Gemsys und Scintrex erreicht werden kann.


Magnetometer-Softwaretool


Insbesondere beim mobilen Einsatz können die gespeicherten Messwerte auf einen Windows-PC übertragen werden. Daten mit GPS-Koordinaten können hiermit schnell und einfach als interpolierter Farbteppich angezeigt werden.

[Protonemagnetometer Software Tool]

Das Tool ist einfach gehalten und dient im Wesentlichen nur zum Datendownload. Für weitere Anlaysen und Auswertungen können die Daten im CSV-Format exportiert werden und stehen somit auch für andere Programme (z.B. Surfer) zur Verfügung.

Für die reine Übertragung des aktuellen Messwertes ist keine spezielle Software notwendig. Die Werte werden nach einer Messung im ASCII-Format übetragen. Nur für das Auslesen von aufgezeichneten Daten ist das Softwaretool notwendig.


Frühere Versionen


Während der Entwicklungsphasen ist unter anderem eine Version (AM502C) in einem extrem kleinen Gehäuse entstanden. Die auf der Rückseite liegenden Steckverbinder und der nicht geschützte Kippschalter eignen sich jedoch weniger für den mobilen Einsatz:

[Protonenmagnetometer alte Version AM502C]

Die Version auf der folgenden Abbildung (AM502FL) bietet solidere Industrie-Steckverbinder auf der Frontplatte, allerdings verfügt das Gehäuse über keine besondere Schutzart und ist wegen des Kunststoffrahmens nicht ganz so robust wie die neueste Variante, der Kippschalter wurde allerdings schon durch einen Folientaster ersetzt:

[Protonenmagnetometer PPM AM502FL]

Weiterführende Informationen


Hier noch einige Links zu lesenswerten Informationen zum Thema Protonemagnetometer.

Für eine generelle Einführung empfehlen sich selbstverständlich auch die entsprechenden Artikel auf Wikipedia zum Thema Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR, Kernspinresonanz) und Protonenmagnetometer.


Wer baut sonst noch Protonenmagnetometer?


Hier noch eine Übersicht (ohne Anspruch auf Vollständigkeit) einiger Hersteller und Entwickler von Protonenmagnetometern.

Professionelle High-End Hersteller

Geometrics Einer der drei Grossen
Gemsys Einer der drei Grossen
Scintrex Einer der drei Grossen
WTS Chinesischer Hersteller
Enoutech Chinesischer Hersteller
Magson Nur wenige Daten/Informationen vorhanden
PMP Magnetometr Protonowy PMP-5a (GEOPAN Warszawa, entwickelt von W.Turewicz, Ph.D, Warsaw. Leider ist Hr. Turewicz 2016 verstorben und das Gerät wird nicht weiterentwickelt. Danke an Hr. Sobolewski für die Information!)

Semi-Professionelle Amateur-Instrumente

Quantro Auch für den Einsatz unter Wasser. Abstimmung nicht zeitgemäss mit Schaltern.
Aquascan Alte Technik, Analoginstrumente auf Frontplatte
Deepgeotech   Sinnlose Darstellung von 5 Nachkommastellen, Nanotesla abgekürzt mit nTl, Abstimmung nicht zeitgemäss mit Schaltern...
PPM Mark IV Proton Magnetometer Bausatz. Vielen Dank an Jim und Willy für ihre freundliche Unterstützung!
Alex Mumm Das hier auf dieser Seite beschriebene Gerät

Lernprojekte

Teachspin Sehr schöne Geräte für Studium und Unterricht
Gellerlabs Entwicklungsprojekt, Baugruppen und Platinen
PyPPM (home) Von Bradley Worley, Open Source, interessantes Design. PC/Notebook via USB notwendig.
Stefan Hollos Buch mit Bauanleitung
ilotresor Bauanleitung, Schaltpläne
Colombo Projekt an der University of Colombo.


© 2017 Alexander Mumm